DEEMABLE TECH

My Facebook Photos Are Going to the Wrong Folder

How do I get them where I want?

Posted

Subscribe to Deemable Tech's podcast by clicking here, searching for "Deemable Tech" in iTunes, or by entering the RSS feed, http://dmbl.co/pod, in your favorite podcast app.

Deemable Tech can also be heard each week on WJCT 89.9 FM Thursday mornings at 6:35 AM and 8:35 AM.

Each week on Deemable Tech, hosts Ray Hollister and Tom Braun answer questions submitted by users and provide helpful tips about computers, tablets, mobile phone, the Internet and technology in general. Need tech help? Call 1-888-972-9868 or send them an email at questions@deemable.com.

Q: Every time I take a photo and try to upload it to Facebook from my iPhone 5 it keeps adding it to a folder of old photos. It looks like the comments from my friends are from all the old photos. How do I get this to stop and just upload one photo at a time in a post?

A: You can upload photos to Facebook from your iPhone in one of two ways: from inside the Facebook app or directly from the built-in iPhone Camera and Photos apps. For some reason, Facebook puts every photos that you upload to your profile into Albums now. If you upload them directly from the Camera and Photos apps, it will automatically place them into the "iOS Photos Album." You can change which folder the photo goes into, but you cannot place them into a new folder. 

However, if you upload them from inside the Facebook app or on the Facebook website, you can create a new folder for it to go into. 

Here's how to do it. Open the Facebook app and tap the Photo icon at the top of the screen. 

Choose the photo or photos that you want to upload from your Camera Roll by tapping them. If you want to take a new picture, tap the camera icon in the bottom-left corner. Once you have selected the picture, tap the blue button in the bottom-right. 

On the next screen you can write something to caption your picture with. Just above the keyboard, you'll see a row of icons. Tap the fourth one from the left which should be a photo album.

In the next screen you can choose which photo album you would like the photo to go into, or create a new album by tapping New in the top-right corner. 

Enter the name of the Photo Album, and optionally, you can write a short description of the album. You can choose who can see your new photo album by tapping the icon in the bottom-right corner.

Tap the audience you want to be able to see your new photo album. 

Tap Save, and your album is created. 

The photo album icon should turn blue. 

Finally, tap Upload, and your photo is now uploaded to a new photo album.

Now, you may have noticed that this is a pretty time consuming process. If you were hoping there is a faster, simpler way to do it, there isn't. The only other option is to just upload it to the default folder and stop caring about where the comments and likes fall. It's up to you. 

No comments on this story | Add your comment
Please log in or register to add your comment
 
Download our dojax app
What do you think? Browse
Who is the scariest person in Northeast Florida?
Post your review here …